September 16 – National Guacamole Day

 

National Guacamole Day


 
Today is National Guacamole Day, not to be confused with the November 14th holiday National Spicy Guacamole Day. Here, in California the grocery stores sell Haas avocados so I prefer Haas over other avocados for Guacamole.

I have to admit I always have a problem picking a ripe avocado. You can usually tell when it’s ripe when the skin is dark, but also keep in mind an avocado should yield to gentle pressure when you squeeze it in your palm. I typically will buy avocados that are firm and let them ripen naturally.

I love fresh guacamole. I prefer my guacamole very plain I love to taste the avocado and not all the added ingredients.

The Hass website has a few guacamole recipes that I think you all will enjoy.
 
 
 
 
 

 
Guac Off!
by: Nathan Myers

Amazon Price: $9.96


 
 
 
 

Categories: Barbeque, BBQ, Diet, Event, Family, Food, Grocery, Health, Picnic, Recipes, Summer | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “September 16 – National Guacamole Day

  1. Pingback: A star is born…and eaten! | thepainterspalate

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 634 other followers

